Abubakar tafawa balewa University
ATBU Bauchi

brief history of the department

Brief History of Mathematical Sciences Department 

The Programme started in October, 1981 with Late Prof. Bestman, an applied mathematician, as the Head of the Programme.  He was succeeded in 1984 by Prof. Sharma who was succeeded by Prof. Mshelia, a Theoretical Physicist, from 1985 to 1988.  Prof. S.O. Ale succeeded Prof. Mshelia, and headed the Programme until 1992, when Professor E. J. D. Garba took over the mantle of leadership of the Programme.  Prof. M.S. Sesay, a mathematics educator, succeeded Prof. Garba in 1994 and headed the Programme until 1995.  In 1995, Prof. Ram, a Professor of applied mathematics, was appointed to take over from Prof. Sesay.  In 1996, Prof. Garba took over from Prof. Ram and headed the Programme until 1998.  The Programme was headed by Late Professor E.J.A. Edemenang, a Professor of Computer Science from 1998 to 2001 when Professor M.S. Sesay took over in 2001 to 2004. Prof. Y. Haruna succeeded Prof. Sesay from 2005 – 2007. Prof. D.G. Yakubu took over from Prof. Y. Haruna in November, 2007 to November, 2009.  Prof. Sabo Hamma served the Programme for a period of two years from November 2009 to November 2011. Prof Bala Ma’aji Abdulhamid served the Department from 2011 to 2016. Prof A. Y. Magaji briefly headed the department for just one academic session and then proceeded on leave of Absence in 2017. Dr. Abdulsalam Ya;u Gital acted for about a year and half and in 2018  was elected as the head of the Department. Presently, the Department is headed by Dr. Abdulsalam Ya’u Gital. The Department of Mathematical Sciences is offering degrees in Mathematics, Computer Science and Statistics. In 2014, after the University obtained due approval from National Universities Commission (NUC), the then programme was renamed Department of Mathematical Sciences.