Department of Civil Engineering



The Department was established in 1982, among the three pioneer Departments in the School of Engineering of the Federal University of Technology, Bauchi, under the headship of a Professor Zeidler, a polish national. The Department or Programme as they are known in Bauchi, graduated its first set of students in 1985/86 session and has, since then, graduated students every year.

The Department has been managed by a number of other Coordinators (HODs) including: Dr. U. Alka, Dr. C. Kanu, Prof. D. Adepegba (late), Prof. S. Mustafa, Dr. A. Khazra, Engr. F. F. Udoeyo, Engr. J. A. Egwurube, Prof . D. S. Matawal, Dr. O. B. E. Salau, Engr. S. Y. Umar, and Dr. A. Mohammed. Since inception, there have been two first class graduates, one in the 1991/92 session and the other in the 2013/2014 session. However, intake has continued to rise steadily from less than twenty to as high as more than a hundred. It has full compliments of essential laboratories, which are fully equipped and utilized for student training. The postgraduate programme has produced Ph.D., M. Eng. and PGD graduates over the years in various disciplines of Civil Engineering (especially Geotechnical, Structural, Water Resources and Transportation) and offers an invaluable service to the nation in this regard since the students come from all over Nigeria in the academia, Government and industry. The Programme is rated among the very best in the Country and has products lecturing in other Universities in Nigeria and abroad. There have always been international students from India, Bangladesh, Pakistan and very many from Chad, Cameroun and Niger Republic. The lecturers and Technologists are very confident, experienced, qualified and hard-working personnel. The laboratory staff are absolute authorities in equipment handling and maintenance as well as practical classes.

There have been linkages over the years with the Department of Civil Engineering of Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and University of Lagos, Akoka. External examiners, PG Supervisors and honorary staff have been appointed from these Universities as well as University of Nigeria Nsukka. We have active collaboration with the parallel Departments at Federal University of Technology, Yola, University of Maiduguri and University of Jos among others.

Course Curriculum



The Department offer courses that leads to the award of B. Eng (Civil Engineering) at the undergraduate level.


The Department undertakes courses that lead to the award of Master (M.Eng) and Doctorate (Ph.D.) degrees in various fields of discipline that include:

  1. Structural Engineering
  2. Geotechnical Engineering
  3. Water Resources Engineering

Notice: Undefined index: url in /home/atbuedu/atbu/app/Controllers/Web/front/FrontBaseController.php on line 198

Notice: Undefined index: url in /home/atbuedu/atbu/app/Controllers/Web/front/FrontBaseController.php on line 209

Notice: Undefined index: url in /home/atbuedu/atbu/app/Controllers/Web/front/FrontBaseController.php on line 215

Notice: Undefined index: url in /home/atbuedu/atbu/app/Controllers/Web/front/FrontBaseController.php on line 221

Notice: Undefined index: url in /home/atbuedu/atbu/app/Controllers/Web/front/FrontBaseController.php on line 221